Three more candidates pull nomination papers in Wareham

Jan 9, 2019

As of Jan. 8, three more candidates have pulled nomination papers to enter the races for Selectmen, School Committee and Town Clerk this April. In total, there are 10 open seats on a variety of boards, including Board of Assessors, Housing Authority and Sewer Commissioners. 

The three who pulled paper’s are: incumbent Selectman Anthony Scarsciotti for his seat, Jennifer Bailey for School Committee and Jenna Deane for Town Clerk. 

Scarsciotti is running for reelection to a three-year term on the Board of Selectmen. If elected, this would be Scarsciotti’s second term as a Selectman. Scarsciotti is joined in the Selectman race by incumbent Patrick Tropeano, who was the first to pull nomination papers for reelection on Jan. 7. Tropeano’s seat is also for a three-year term. The top two vote getters in the Selectmen’s race will win seats on the board. 

Two seats on the school committee, one held by Mary Morgan and one vacated by Rebekah Pratt, are also up for grabs. Pratt, who moved to Carver in December, will not seek reelection. There are two years left for Pratt’s seat. Jennifer Bailey, of Crab Cove Terrace, was the first to pull papers for that particular seat. 

Morgan, who joined the School Committee in 2016, has not returned calls to say if she will run for reelection and has yet to pull papers for the three-year term.

Likewise, Roxanne Barboza will not run for reelection to the Board of Assessors since her move out of town. Barboza’s seat is open for a three-year term.

Incumbent Town Clerk Mary Anne Silva will not seek reelection either, having announced her intentions to retire at Fall Town Meeting. Jenna Dean, of Tower Terrace, was the first to pull papers for the three-year seat as Town Clerk.

Claire Smith, who’s seat as Town Moderator is up for a three-year term, said she has yet to decide if she will run for reelection or not. Smith has served as Town Moderator in Wareham for nine years.

Jean Connaughton, whose seat is open for a five-year term on the Housing Authority, said she plans to run for reelection and will pull papers later this month.

A three-year seat for a Sewer User Commissioner, currently held by Peter Dunlop, is also open. Dunlop has not returned calls to say if he will run for reelection and has yet to pull papers for seat.

Nomination papers can obtained from the Town Clerk’s office in Town Hall, located at 54 Marion Road, until Thursday, Feb. 7. The last day to return completed nomination papers is Wednesday, Feb. 11 by 5 p.m. in the Town Clerk's office. The last day to register to vote in the town election or at Town Meeting will be Wednesday, March 13 until 8 p.m. in the Town Clerk’s office.