District teachers receive awards from county union

May 26, 2023

Wareham Public Schools teachers received recognition at the Plymouth County Education Association’s awards ceremony on Monday, May 22.

"These awards are unique for being governed entirely by professionals active in our field," Plymouth County Education Association President Brian Fitzgerald said in a press release. "Honorees are first nominated by their colleagues, then those nominations are screened by a committee of educators from across the county, and finally approved in a vote of some 20 educators after that.”

Rookie awards, for teachers with one to three years of experience, were given to fourth grade teacher Patricia Cooney, sixth grade math teacher Jenna Gelzinis, fourth grade teacher Samantha Mestieri, special education teacher Kalyn Oliveira, second grade teacher Kendall Reid and fifth grade school counselor Maddison Russo.

Honor awards, “for significant service to either their profession, association or community,” were given to second grade teacher Suzanne Allen, physical education teacher Manuel Borges, third grade teacher Julie Cardoso, second grade teacher Holly Columbo, preschool special education teacher Ann Marie Fillion, elementary school Assistant Principal Jo-Anne Gibbs, first grade teacher Kathy Harunk, elementary school STEAM teacher Elizabeth Hayes, special education teacher Michelle Houghton, kindergarten teacher Wendy Nault, elementary school art teacher Nancy Newton, paraprofessional Sonya Rogers, elementary school Assistant Principal Sara Russo, physical education teacher Deanna Semple and special education teacher Michelle Skolnik.

The association also recognized paraprofessional Marjory Rakoski for 35 years of service. Paraprofessional Jennine Alexander and physical education & health teacher Tina Clark received an honorary life membership in the association for their 30 years of service. 

The awards ceremony celebrated the careers of retiring teachers Borges, middle school teacher Wendy Brogioli, first grade teacher Marie Jacinto, middle school Assistant Principal Sandi Ponte, paraprofessional Cristine Raimonde and ELE teacher Anna Rego.